What’s an SR-22 Certificate?

An SR-22 is a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR).  It is not insurance but verification that you’re maintaining car insurance liability coverage. An SR-22 form is a certificate filed by your car insurance company with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

3 Types of SR-22 Certificates in California

  1. Operator’s Policy Certificate – covers the financial responsibility of a motorist that does not own a vehicle.
  2. Owner’s Policy Certificate – covers the financial responsibility for vehicles owned by the motorist.
  3. Broad Coverage Policy Certificate – covers financial responsibility for all the vehicles that are owned or not owned by the motorist.

Who needs an SR-22?

The SR-22 financial responsibility insurance form is required for specific drivers in California and may be required for the following reasons:

  • If you have any safety responsibility suspensions.
  • If you have any unsatisfied judgment suspensions.
  • If you have a restricted license.
  • If you have had your license revoked.
  • For individuals convicted of DUI.

What does an SR-22 cost through my insurance COMPANY?

The costs of an SR-22 vary by insurance company.  The costs of filing the certificate itself from your insurance company should be between $25 and $50.  However, once you request an SR-22 certificate your insurance company will now designate you as a “high risk” driver and may increase your underlying policy rates. 

Insurance Cancellation

Some insurance companies will cancel your insurance when you ask for an SR-22 certificate.  If your insurance is cancelled, then you need to obtain a new insurance policy and SR-22 from a different insurance company. 

What Does an SR-22 Cost if I get it from a new company?

You can expect to spend anywhere from $300 to $800 for an SR-22 and minimum liability policy depending on you driving record and specific insurance company.  You want to shop around for the best coverage at the best price.    

How do I get an SR-22?

To obtain an SR-22 you would contact your car insurance company to inform them of your need for an SR-22 certificate of financial responsibility. They will usually charge you a small service fee of between $25 to $50 and electronically send the SR22 to the California DMV. 

How long does an SR-22 have to be MAINTAINED?

California requires drivers to carry SR-22 insurance for 3 years. In that time, continuous coverage must be maintained. If there is an insurance lapse or cancellation, your car insurance company is legally obligated to notify the DMV and your license will be suspended.

Losing Your Good Driver Discount

California law prohibits DUI offenders from obtaining a good driver discount for ten years following the date of their DUI violation. 

Higher Insurance Rates

As an SR-22 client, you will pay a higher premium for the minimum liability coverage required by California law because you have been labeled a “high risk” driver.

Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements for California

  • $15,000 for injury/death to one person.
  • $30,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
  • $5,000 for damage to property.

Liability insurance compensates a person other than the policy holder for personal injury or property damage. Comprehensive or collision insurance does not meet vehicle financial responsibility requirements.

Call us with Questions about SR-22

If you have questions about the SR-22 requirement, call our office today at (916) 939-3900 to speak directly to an attorney about your SR-22 questions.  We are open 24/7, 365 days a year to answer your questions.